Tulsa's Danny Manning wins C-USA Coach of the Year

Tulsa head coach Danny Manning has been named Conference USA's Gene Bartow Coach of the Year.

Manning won the Coach of the Year award in just his second season at the helm of the Golden Hurricane. He led Tulsa to a 13-3 conference record, giving the Golden Hurricane a share of its first regular season conference title since sharing the Western Athletic Conference crown in 2002.

Tulsa rebounded from a slow start to finish 14-3 over in its final 17 games.  Past Coach of the Year winners in Tulsa history include Bill Self (1999-00), Tubby Smith (1993-94 and 1994-95), Nolan Richardson (1980-81 and 1984-85) and Clarence Iba (1954-55), among others.

The Golden Hurricane enter the Conference USA Championship as the No. 2 seed for the first time since 2011. 

comments powered by Disqus