At the time, officials determined Woods hadn't broken any rules and so did not disqualify Woods for signing an improper scorecard because it made its "initial determination prior to the finish of the player's round."
It was only under further scrutiny from the television coverage -- prompted by an inquiry from a viewer -- that Woods was retrospectively punished, but was not penalized for the incorrectly signed scorecard.
The R&A and the U.S. Golf Association supported the decision made at Augusta -- but stressed it should not set a precedent for future incidents.
The joint statement explained: "In returning his score card, Woods had breached Rule 6-6d by returning a score (6) for the 15th hole that was lower than his actual score (8).
"The penalty for such a breach of Rule 6-6d is disqualification. Under Rule 33-7, a committee has discretion to waive that penalty in 'exceptional individual cases.' The Committee elected to invoke that discretion and waived Woods' penalty of disqualification.
"The Decisions on the Rules of Golf authorize a committee to correct an incorrect decision before the competition has closed, and they establish that where a Committee incorrectly advises a competitor, before he returns his scorecard, that he has incurred no penalty, and then subsequently corrects its mistake, it is appropriate for the committee to waive the disqualification penalty.
"The Woods ruling was based on exceptional facts and should not be viewed as a general precedent for relaxing or ignoring a competitor's essential obligation under the Rules to return a correct score card."