UTEP's Keitha Adams asks El Paso to sell out the Don for WNIT game Friday

EL PASO, Texas - The UTEP women's basketball team will host Arkansas State (22-11) in the WNIT at the Don Haskins Center at 7 p.m. Friday and Coach Keitha Adams wants it to be a packed house.

"El Paso make a dream n goal come true. I've always dreamed of 12,222 fans at our game. Friday night NIT. Why not make history@UTEPAthletics," Adams tweeted Tuesday morning.

Floor seats are $8, general admission seats are $6 and $4 for students. Call (915) 747-5234 or visit the Ticket Center at Glory Road/Mesa Street. Tickets will go on sale at 8 a.m. MDT Wednesday.

The Miners (24-7) received an at-large bid to the event, joining five other Conference USA squads. C-USA led all leagues with Charlotte, East Carolina, Old Dominion, Southern Miss and Tulane

It marks the second time in the past three seasons and fourth occasion overall that UTEP will play postseason basketball (2008 & 2012 NCAA Tournament). It is the first time the Miners are playing in the WNIT.

UTEP, seeded third in the C-USA Tournament, was eliminated from it by Southern Miss, 84-70.

Senior Kayla Thornton had 21 points to become UTEP's all-time leading scorer.

2014 Postseason WNIT Field
a=Automatic Berth

American (Patriot)
a-Arkansas State (Sun Belt)
a-Auburn (SEC)
Ball State (MAC)
a-Belmont (Ohio Valley)
a-Bowling Green (MAC)
Butler (Big East)
a-Cal Poly (Big West)
a-CSU Bakersfield (WAC)
Central Michigan (MAC)
Charlotte (Conference USA)
Colorado (Pac-12)
a-Colorado State (MWC)
a-Creighton (Big East)
a-Delaware (Colonial)
Duquesne (Atlantic 10)
East Carolina (Conference USA)
a-Furman (Southern)
George Washington (Atlantic 10)
a-Green Bay (Horizon)
Harvard (Ivy)
Hawaii (Big West)
a-High Point (Big South)
Indiana (Big Ten)
a-Indiana State (Missouri Valley)
a-Iona (Metro Atlantic)
IUPUI (Summit)
a-Lamar (Southland)
Marquette (Big East)
a-Miami (FL) (ACC)
Michigan (Big Ten)
a-Minnesota (Big Ten)
Mississippi State (SEC)
Missouri (SEC)
Montana (Big Sky)
a-Mount St. Mary's (NEC)
a-Navy (Patriot)
a-North Carolina A&T (MEAC)
Northwestern (Big Ten)
Old Dominion (Conference USA)
Oregon (Pac-12)
a-Pacific (WCC)
a-Princeton (Ivy)
Quinnipiac (MAAC)
Rutgers (American)
Saint Mary's (WCC)
San Diego (WCC)
Seton Hall (Big East)
SMU (American)
a-South Dakota State (Summit)
a-South Florida (American)
a-Southern Miss (CUSA)
a-Southern Utah (Big Sky)
a-St. Bonaventure (Atlantic 10)
a-Stetson (Atlantic Sun)
a-Stony Brook (America East)
a-TCU (Big 12)
a-Texas Southern (SWAC)
Tulane (Conference USA)
UTEP (Conference USA
VCU (Atlantic 10)
Villanova (Big East)
a-Washington (Pac-12)
Washington State (Pac-12)

comments powered by Disqus