New Mexico

Elected officials in Doña Ana County sworn into office

18 elected officials sworn in

LAS CRUCES, New Mexico - 17 elected officials were sworn into office at the Dona Ana County Government Center Thursday.

The ceremony began with the presentation of colors by the Dona Ana County Sheriff's Office. Each official then took their oath into office.

The county commission will have 3 new faces on board: Ramon Gonzalez (D); Isabella Solis (D); and John Vasquez (D).

District Judge Fernando Macias also swore in new County Clerk Scott Krahling and new County Treasurer Eric Rodriguez.

Rodriguez currently holds the seat of county treasurer after a jury voted to remove former treasurer David Gutierrez from office last month.

A jury found Gutierrez guilty of gross immorality, after he allegedly offered an employee money for sex.

Court documents show Gutierrez is appealing that decision.

Gutierrez attended Thursday's ceremony, but left early. ABC-7 asked him if he had any comment on the appeal, but he waved and said "no thank you," and smiled before walking away.

comments powered by Disqus