KVIA Breaking News

BREAKING: Cassandra Hernandez Brown, Alexsandra Annello and Sam Morgan win council races

EL PASO, Texas - El Paso voters elected three new city representatives Saturday.

In District 3, voters elected Cassandra Hernandez Brown over Jaime Barceleau. Hernandez Brown received 2,711 votes, about 59% percent of the vote. Barceleau received 1,864 votes, about 41 percent of the vote.

In District 2, Incumbent Jim Tolbert lost his seat to Alexsandra Annello, who received nearly 61 percent of the vote. Annello received 1,929 votes, Tolbert 1,242 votes.

In District 4, Sam Morgan defeated Shane Haggerty. Morgan garnered 2,555 votes, about 54 percent of the vote. Haggerty received 2,168 votes.

"The northeast is great place to live and raise a family and I'm going to make sure that I speak loud and clear and bring voice to a community that has been voiceless for a long time," Morgan said.

The newly-elected District 4 city rep. further stated one of his greatest strengths is his "ability to look at the unknown and see a positive in it." Morgan told ABC-7 he taught military planning in the battlefield and "I approach this as a military operation."

Robert Cormell and Cissy Lizarraga are heading to a runoff in the special election to fill the District 8 seat vacated by Cortney Niland. Cormell received more than 42 percent of the vote, not enough to avoid a runoff.

comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories