Back-to-Back WAC Titles for Men's Golf

NMSU wins WAC golf title

LAS VEGAS - The New Mexico State men's golf team won its seventh Western Athletic Conference title in nine years, and second-consecutive, after leading wire-to-wire at the 2014 WAC Men's Golf Championship. 


The Aggies concluded the conference tournament on Sunday by shooting a final-round 11-over-par 299 at the par-72, 7,066-yard Stallion Mountain Golf Club to finish with a total score of 8-under 856 (272-285-299), 10 shots in front of second-place Idaho who finished at 2-over 866.


"Going into today's round we knew that we still had to play good golf to win," said Aggie head coach Mike Dirks. "The wind was blowing today and we seemed to handle it for the most part. Despite a rough spot late in the round we held on and got the win. I'm really proud of this team."


NM State also brought home the individual crown as junior Pat Beyhan, who began the day in third place, leapfrogged over his teammate Kenneth Fadke II to become WAC champion with a total score of 6-under-par 210 (67-71-72).  After consecutive bogeys on the 11th and 12th holes, Beyhan used an eagle on the par-5 13th to get back to even par, where he finished on the day, and take control of the tournament.


Fadke, meanwhile, ended up two shots back of his teammate and in second place for the second-straight year after shooting a 4-over 76 on Sunday.  The Aggie sophomore, who led after each of the first-two rounds, carded a total score of 4-under 212 (64-72-76).


All five NM State golfers finished in the top 20 as junior Brett Walker finished in a tie for fifth at 1-over 217 (70-74-73), senior Willy Hogan in a tie for 12th at 4-over 220 (72-68-80) and fellow senior Zach Adams in 19th place with a total score of 8-over 224 (71-75-78).


The conference also announced its postseason awards on Sunday.  The Aggies brought home both major awards as Fadke was named the WAC Player of the Year while Dirks was honored as the WAC Coach of the Year.


NM State had a total of three golfers make the all-conference teams.  Fadke and Beyhan were named to the All-WAC first team while Walker was a part of the All-WAC second team.


As for the rest of the team's finishing order, Utah Valley (+25 889) finished third behind Idaho followed by Missouri-Kansas City (+26 890), Seattle (+48 912), Texas-Pan American (+51 915), Chicago State (+76 940) and Bakersfield (+86 950).

comments powered by Disqus