2012 story: NMSU President search committee selected

LAS CRUCES, NM - A 15-member search committee has been selected to name the next president of New Mexico State University.

Former NMSU president Dr. Barbara Couture resigned from the school in late September.

NMSU Board of Regents Chair Mike Cheney said the committee includes a diverse group of university and community leaders.

"Hiring the university president is the most important priority for our board and I'm pleased that we have been able to put together such a comprehensive committee that includes individuals from as many of NMSU's constituency groups as possible," Cheney said. "The board was pleased to be able to conduct multiple listening sessions throughout the state and values the input received from all of our stakeholders. We heard several recurring themes and will be taking that information into consideration as we form the criteria to be sought in the next leader of NMSU."

NMSU alum Larry Lujan has been selected as the chair of the committee.

"Larry will bring a strong level of integrity to the search process along with a keen understanding of our university and our state," Cheney said.

The committee includes:
-Larry Lujan, Chair, Albuquerque, president and CEO of the Manuel Lujan Agencies
-Festus Addo-Yobo, Las Cruces, director NMSU Black Programs
-Felicia Casados, Grants, president NMSU Grants
-Ramon Dominguez, El Paso, NMSU associate professor of educational management and development
-Paul Gutierrez, Santa Fe, executive director of the New Mexico Association of Counties
-Debra Hicks, Hobbs, president, CEO and principal engineer of Pettigrew and Associates PA
-Jerean Hutchinson, Las Cruces, co-owner La Posta de Mesilla
-Judy Johnson, Nambe, retired certified public accountant
-Tim Ketelaar, Las Cruces, NMSU associate professor in psychology, NMSU Faculty Senate Chair
-Michael Morehead, Las Cruces, dean NMSU College of Education
-Stan Rounds, Las Cruces, superintendent of Las Cruces Public Schools
-Scott Schafer, Carrizozo, rancher, retired banker
-Steven Stochaj, Las Cruces, NMSU professor of electrical and computer engineering
-Breeana Sylvas, Las Cruces, president Associated Students of NMSU
-Andrew Taylor, Las Cruces, Lt. Col. U.S. Army, NMSU Army ROTC commander

comments powered by Disqus